Skip to content
April 6, 2011 / Tobias Mann

An Unfortunate Decision

The End Of Ubuntu Video Tutorials may be upon us. Even though I have attempted to attract a community of people willing to help produce video tutorials along with me my time and patience for the art has dwindled. The task grows ever more complicated every year and I have neither the time or the energy to maintain this website any long. I will continue work on the projects goal through The Screencast.ubuntu.com website as It releases me from my responsibility. I have done alot to make this site work but the flow of traffic is low enough to say that it hasn’t been working very well. We will see what happens with 11.04.

However it seems likely that there won’t be a set of guides for its release.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. alaukik / Apr 12 2011 9:21 am

    please dont stop it is really an awesome website. 😦

    • Tobias Mann / Apr 17 2011 11:02 am

      I hope you realize I am a college student, and a working photographer. Each video takes hours of planning, and execution. These short videos don’t look like much work but you give it a try. Ever video posted here is of my creation.

    • Tobias Mann / Apr 25 2011 5:46 pm

      I won’t close the website until August when the domain is up.

  2. chryatis / Apr 29 2011 6:47 pm

    Today was the first time I heard about this website and visited it immediately. I am sorry to hear that you will be discontinuing it although I appreciate that you are busy working as a photographer and as a student. Oh well….

    • Tobias Mann / May 1 2011 7:02 pm

      Not much I can do. I will leave the site up until august, when the the domain expires. After that it will be ubuntuvideotutorials.wordpress.com although all the videos will be left up on youtube, and blip.tv . ubuntuvideotutorials.wordpress.com will close in october of this year. 11.10 will not support the classic UI which these videos demonstrate. If you want to contribute until then or wish to take over, by all means.

  3. Integrator Asia / Jun 3 2011 10:13 pm

    Don’t stop doing what you love doing.

    when i began researching ubuntu I did not see your site.
    it really cool if more people can see this.

    • Tobias Mann / Jun 4 2011 12:05 pm

      The sad fact is I don’t love doing it much any more. I prefer my two passions writing and photography. Thats what my blog is all about. The videos up here aren’t really going anywhere they will still be on youtube, and blip.tv and updated occationally. The website is just going to go down.

  4. ahmose714 / Jun 15 2011 11:33 pm

    Well, Its a great site.

    Would you mind if I used this sites background for an Ubuntu wallpaper?

Leave a Reply

